Make your own free website on Tripod.com

EglishVersion

Home Ubicazione Cenni Storici Costruzione Interno Castello EglishVersion Foto dei Mesi Oro delle Alpi Castelvecchio MagnoPalazzo MagnoPalazzo Sale Giardino


Museo del castello del Buonconsiglio

 

The " Castello del Buonconsiglio" is the most important monumcntal

complex in the region. It was  founded in the first half of the thirteenth

century on a rocky elevation, dominating the city and made up of various

building constructed along the thirteenth century city walls. It became the

residence of the Trento bishop princes and was suhjected to important

transformation and ampliflcations during the centuries. On the main

facade of the Castelvecchio, the oldest nucleus of the castle, one can

admire the elegant loggia with its nine arches in Venetian gothic style

(1475) which the princely bishop Johannes Hinderhach, who was also

responsible for the renovation of the internal courtyard with its porticoes

placed one above the other and decorated with friezes and festons, had

constructed. Bishop George of Liechtenstein fostered the renovation

 

 

 

of the Torre Aquila, (Eagle Tower), along the southern surrounding walls,

in which one of the most famous and rare example of gothic international

painting is conserved: the cycle of the  Months with the labour of a

majestic renainssance place ( The Magno Palazzo ), in which Gerolamo

Romanino, Dosso and Battista Dossi and Marcello Foligno have left

magnificient pictorial cycles which may be considered among the most

interesting renaissance decorations in Northern Italy. The Giunta

Albertiana dates back to 1686 and joins the oldest nucleus of the castle

with the building constructed by Cles. The baroque decorations are still

partially visible. After the end of the episcopal principality (1803), the

Castle was used as a barracks and suffered a period of sharp decline.

Subjected to widescale general restoration by Giuseppe Gerola between

1920 and 1930 the " Castello del Buonconsiglio " was subsequently

transformed into a museum and inside conserves a well-endowed

collection of paintings, sculpture, detached, frescoes, majolica, porcelain,

prints and drawings, as well as a substantial coin and medal and

archaeological coliection.

 

 

Open all year : except 1st of January, 1st November

                                       and 25th December.Closed every Monday

                                       except public holidays.

enio@16/03/2004